Postmasburg was proclaimed a town in 1892 and named after Rev J Postma, a founding member of the Dutch Reformed Church. Postmasburg even had its own diamond rush. The first diamond was discovered in 1918 and as a result an open cast mine grew. The mine was permanently flooded in 1935 and as a result, just like Kimberley, Postmasburg could also boast its very own “Big Hole”. This hole is over 45 m deep and filled with fish. It’s a beautiful sight visited by many. Although diamonds are still mined here, the most important mineral is manganese.
There have been a few archaeological findings in this beautiful area. A sight known as Blinkklipkop, meaning “Shining Rock Hill”, boasts indications that the Khoisan attempted mining in this area as early as 700 AD. They mined specularite, which is a soft form of haematite. This stone was used as a cosmetic as well as in certain rituals.